All news
LayoffsCompany reports cuts completed October 27, 2026

Scripps completes 431 job cuts as its restructuring continues

Scripps says its October 27 cuts bring the number of employees affected in 2026 to about 850. Its release does not give counts by station.

Location
Job locations not specified, Location breakdown not disclosed
Key date
October 27, 2026 (company-reported cuts)
Reported
Company announcement October 28, 2026 · sources reviewed October 29, 2026
As of
October 29, 2026
Illustration of television studio equipment. Headline: Scripps completes 431 job cuts. October 27, 2026; U.S. workforce restructuring.
Illustrative graphic, not a photograph of this event

The E.W. Scripps Company says it completed 431 job cuts on October 27, 2026. In an October 28 announcement, the broadcaster said this year’s reductions have affected about 850 employees, nearly one-fifth of its workforce at the start of the year. Scripps announcement

Part of a wider restructuring

Scripps says the cuts are part of its broader transformation plan. It expects to have changes in place by the end of 2026 that would save about $100 million a year.

TheWrap reported that Scripps also plans more than 100 new positions. CEO Adam Symson told staff the company aimed to fill as many as possible with employees whose jobs were affected. The report does not confirm how many employees will move into those roles. TheWrap, October 27

Details still limited

These figures cover the company as a whole. The release does not give counts by station or city, including Cincinnati, where it was issued. The sources reviewed also do not identify every affected role or each employee’s final working day.

Job search support

For people looking for their next role, CareerOneStop’s American Job Center finder lists local centers that offer free employment help. Services can include resume workshops, career counseling and job-search assistance. Availability varies by location.

These centers serve the wider public. The sources reviewed do not identify a Scripps-specific assistance program.

Sources